Adjusting Bin sizes

I’m running a query to summarize a field/column in a table. The binning options however are rigid, and of uniform widths.

How could I output/customize the bins to show counts:
bin 1: 0-99 items
bin 2: 100-399 items
bin 3: > 400 items

Sadly, I’m not good at SQL so though I tried to read posts and search on the web, didn’t find anything I could use.

Hi @Cali_Claudster
There’s a request open about that:
https://github.com/metabase/metabase/issues/12847 - upvote by clicking :+1: on the first post
But what you’re asking for would be possible to do with case function in Custom Expressions:
https://www.metabase.com/learn/building-analytics/notebook-editor/custom-expressions.html

Hi @Cali_Claudster, hope you find it helpful.

Hi MollyZ, I'm SUCH a noob...

I tried to input the case command(s) but kept getting an error (syntax)

here's the original short query

and where I tried to enter the case argument

If you have time to show me what I'm entering incorrectly?

Hi flamber, I tried to upvote, but that’s a different system? my discourse credentials weren’t recognized - - do I have to re-sign up?

@Cali_Claudster Our forum is not the same as GitHub - or any other site.
Instead of doing it in SQL, you can just use Custom Expression, but you’re missing commas between the columns in your SELECT-clause.

@flamber Thanks for the info, I'll create an account there so I can upvote that ticket.

I didn't quite understand your observation about missing commas?

this was the custom question: (the SQL was autogenerated by Metabase)

SELECT ((floor(((analytics_prod.settlements.sidedoor_net - -500.0) / 250.0)) * 250.0) + -500.0) AS sidedoor_net, count(*) AS count
FROM analytics_prod.settlements
WHERE (analytics_prod.settlements.show_month >= date "2021-01-01"
AND analytics_prod.settlements.show_month < date "2021-02-01")
GROUP BY sidedoor_net
ORDER BY sidedoor_net ASC