Custom Column (Sum) with 2 integer columns

Hi there,

I am new to Metabase and trying to resolve something that should be fairly easy.

I would like to sum two different fields (Promotion Value and CC Order Item Options --> Original Unit Price) that I obtained in the same table through a Left Join (I couldn't put a second image, but happy to if that's helpful in a second reply) on the ID of the CC Order Items table to the CC Order Item Options table Foreign Key.

When I try that through a simple sum calculation it seems like it screws up the fields themselves and I don't get the right result.

Please let me know if you have any idea on how I could solve this and thanks!

Hi @ff9991
Please post “Diagnostic Info” from Admin > Troubleshooting.
You should be able to post more screenshots now - otherwise just create a comment with the extra screenshot(s).
I’m not sure I understand what you mean by it screwing up the fields and the results.

Hi flamber,

Thanks for that.

Please find attached the other screenshot:

Basically, it seems like the custom field does not sum properly the two fields I am considering and also changes the values for those two fields I am trying to calculate on when I insert it in the visualization / table.

Please find below the "Diagnostic info":

{
"browser-info": {
"language": "en-GB",
"platform": "Win32",
"userAgent": "Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/88.0.4324.150 Safari/537.36",
"vendor": "Google Inc."
},
"system-info": {
"file.encoding": "UTF-8",
"java.runtime.name": "OpenJDK Runtime Environment",
"java.runtime.version": "11.0.7+10",
"java.vendor": "AdoptOpenJDK",
"java.vendor.url": "https://adoptopenjdk.net/",
"java.version": "11.0.7",
"java.vm.name": "OpenJDK 64-Bit Server VM",
"java.vm.version": "11.0.7+10",
"os.name": "Linux",
"os.version": "4.14.198-152.320.amzn2.x86_64",
"user.language": "en",
"user.timezone": "GMT"
},
"metabase-info": {
"databases": [
"mongo",
"postgres",