Using multiple variables within one question/query

Hi there! I’m pretty new to Metabase so I’m not sure if this is something that already been brought up. I’m trying to independently filter two metrics that run on different timeframes within the same question/query but I can’t find a way to do it. For the context, I’m trying to subtract two different metrics at any given period. Both have to be filtered by different timeframes (one on contract end date and the other one on close date).

Is this something Metabase can handle at the moment? Would love your suggestions…

Thanks,

Hi @flo92
I’m not sure I understand what you’re asking. Could you explain in more details - perhaps also add a screenshot? Also, which version of Metabase?
You can filter two columns independently from each other.

Hi @flamber

As you can see on the screenshot below, I wrote a sql query that return two different columns, Metric 1 and Metric 2. I would like to filter Metric 1 on created_at and Metric 2 on completed_at within the same view. Let me know if you need more details…

CloudApp

@flo92
Without seeing the query, it’s difficult to know what’s possible, but if you’re returning all 4 columns (2 metrics, 2 dates), then that shouldn’t be a problem.
But I don’t see your date columns - or are those supposed to be filters?
I still don’t understand what the question is.

@flamber yes the two timeframes are supposed to be filtered. I would like to use the variables to filter those two metrics on different timeframes. See the query below… let me know if that help.

WITH sfdc_revenue AS (SELECT
name,
id,
account_id,
stage_name,
opportunity_type_c,
lead_source,
lead_channel_c,
amount as "Opportunity Total Contract Value",
created_date,
close_date,
is_deleted,
net_new_mrr_c as "Net New MRR",
weighted_net_new_mrr_c,
weighted_new_mrr_c,
weighted_added_arr_c,
added_arr_c as "Added ARR",
arr_c as "Opportunity ARR",
monthly_recurring_revenue_mrr_c as "MRR",
resulting_mrr_c,
campaign_id,
owner_id,