Variable Ref in SQL Editor - Cross Two Different Datasources

Hi there,
I am fairly new to Metabase, and I wondered if it’s possible to perform something like the following:

SELECT table_1.field_a, table_2.field_b
FROM datasource_1.table_1
JOIN datasource_2.table_2 On a_1=b_1
WHERE
{{date}} and {{fielddropdown}}

When the variables pane shows up, you can only set up for the single data source. If there a way to create variables which reference from two different data sources in the single query?

Date variable referencing DataSource_1
and FieldDropDown varaible to reference DataSource_2

Or is this impossible?

Hi @yetiboy
No, Metabase does not support queries across databases, so you’ll need to combine your different databases into one warehouse.
https://github.com/metabase/metabase/issues/3953 - upvote by clicking :+1: on the first post

Ok - I can run the query which links the two db’s fine, it’s just trying to add filtering on one table and another filter on the other table. That is the bit that it doesn’t support.

Rather than join across the two sources in metabase, I could perhaps do the join in a view in the datasource and then that would work.

@yetiboy What is it that isn’t working? There shouldn’t be any problems doing what you’re trying.
Your example doesn’t use table aliases, but it sounds like you’re using aliases, which currently isn’t supported:
https://github.com/metabase/metabase/issues/3324 - upvote by clicking :+1: on the first post

But it would help a lot if you posted which database type you’re querying. And while we’re at it, please post “Diagnostic Info” from Admin > Troubleshooting.

Thanks Flamber. I’ll have another look. It seems to me that when you create a field type variable, the SQL editor only looks at one Datasource. Therefore, you are only provided a list of schemas/tables etc from that source, and not the other source.