java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: unable to create new native thread

Hallo!
I’m new to metabase so please be patient with me.

We are facing issues with our first metabase installation. And we can’t get it working.
The error we see in the logs a lot is:
java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: unable to create new native thread

Our Setup:

When starting metabase the log file shows that it is working. e.g. the sample DB is analyzed etc.
Then when you are asked to use the webinterface with localhost:3000/setup I can call that and start registering.
So far so good but then we start to get the errors. This is so heavy that simple commands on the server like “top” or “ls” are not working anymore (system echos: bash: fork: retry: Resource temporarily unavailable)
The java process is using a lot of memory and a bit of CPU and is not responding.
And then the web interface is also not reacting anymore.

I have some log data with comments here: https://pastebin.com/GT7dQVfH
I found a similar issue for a previous version of metabase (0.28.3) But no solution there: https:// github. com/metabase/metabase/issues/7243 (can’t put more then 2 links in as newbie)

Have you added your database? Could it be doing the initial read of the database?

Which version of Java are you on? If it's Java 7 you probably want to up it to Java 8 as 7 will be deprecated in Metabase v0.30 AND with Java 7 you need a command line setting to give it access to more memory.

What's the output of free -h before/after starting Metabase?

Hallo,
thanks for your interest.

java -version

openjdk version “1.8.0_171”
OpenJDK Runtime Environment (build 1.8.0_171-8u171-b11-1~deb9u1-b11)
OpenJDK 64-Bit Server VM (build 25.171-b11, mixed mode)

free -h 
BEFORE START:
              total        used        free      shared  buff/cache   available
Mem:           2.0G         55M        1.8G         20M        126M          0B
Swap:            0B          0B          0B 

AFTER START: (swap is 0)