LDAP Debugging

I’m looking for a little help in debugging the LDAP functionality. I have successfully set up a connection to the DC with an admin user, and confirmed that Metabase successfully saves the changes - when I put in a bad address for the DC I get the expected logging in the console.

When I try to login, I always encounter the error “Password: did not match stored password.” I’ve tried a number of different user filters and tweaks unsuccessfully and am wondering if there is any way to get any of the logs for these attempts to diagnose the issue?

Nothing solves a problem like the power of asking the question… I figured out my issues and want to post some of what I found for others, as I am an LDAP newb.

When we contacted Rackspace to ask for our User Search Base for this, they instructed it was:

CN=Users,CN=Builtin,DC=ourDomain,DC=com

That got us nowhere.

LDAP Hierarchy

I had no idea what these acronyms meant or what our universe of possible variables were. If that’s also your scenario start with this StackOverflow overview on LDAP hierarchy.

Now that I knew what these acronyms meant, I saw another post that just used an OU and the DCs (no CNs), so I decided to try that… but first I needed to know what OUs were in our network.

Find your OUs

For testing purposes, you can find out your OUs through a script like this OU Script

Start with the top-level parent OU for your testing purposes, and if that works, go ahead and start dialing into your Child OUs (or create your Metabase one and add people).

Dialing in on attributes and search filters

When buckling in the security, you might want to see what OUs and Groups your users are already a part of. A good tool to peer into your world of AD stuff is the AdFind Tool by joeware. Using a command like AdFind.exe -h ourDomain.com -f userPrincipalName="myUsername*" can show you a ton of info about your OUs, CNs, and memberOfs.