Metabase setup and login

Hi Team,

I am new to Metabase and yesterday i have installed in my local system. and i did setup the metabase using localhost:3000/setup url. after setup i have created few dashboards and reports as well and saved in my personal folder. what i noticed is after shuting down my laptop when again in the morning i am trying to usse metabase using localhost:3000 again its asking for setup.

so my question is if metabase shutdowns or server or system shutdowns then all the work and settings done so far in metabase will be gone? if, so then why it asks user name and password while setting up the metabase.

Also, 2nd time when i am trying to setup again it is not able to connect to SQL database. but yesterday it connected and i did some work also.

if this is the behavior of metabase then how can we make sure my work is saved and i can get my work again if server shutdowns or metabase shutdowns. and is there a way i can bypass the setup again and again and login to metabase using the username and password.

Any help on this much appriciated.

Hi @Sundas
Without knowing how you’re running Metabase, it’s hard to help, but make sure that you are not using H2 for the application database inside of a Docker container, which you then destroy, when you shutdown your laptop.
Read the documentation in details: https://www.metabase.com/docs/latest/operations-guide/installing-metabase.html

Thank you for replying. I am running metabase using metabase.jar file which downloaded from metabase site. Then using cmd running the command and starting metabase on windows 10.

Let me check the documentation also if you can suggest something.

@Sundas Either you need to point to the same H2 application database or even better, migrate to Postgres/MySQL instead:
https://www.metabase.com/docs/latest/operations-guide/configuring-application-database.html

thank you that helps. we will think about migrating the to Postgres or MySQL