Resultset never retrieved

Hi! How are you guys doing?

So here’s the thing: I’m new to metabase and I did download the jar and launched it on an EC2 instance. It works like a charm, no problem there, but when I run “”“heavy”"" queries, metabase stops responding or crashes. The “”“heavy”""" queries are less than 1M rows and like 30 columns. The few times it doesn’t freeze I get: “Packet for query is too large (4858668 > 4194304).
You can change this value on the server by setting the max_allowed_packet’ variable.”. I know the database is alive and working like a charm since I’d tested and other queries work perfectly (The database and the EC2 are on the same zone, so there shouldn’t be much latency between them).

Any ideas on why I’m experiencing this error?

Edit:
I just run the query again with a “;” at the end and i got “GC overhead limit exceeded”, I don’t know if this is relevant to the problem.

Edit 2:
Now I get “ResultSet is from UPDATE. No Data.” This is quite confusing…

Btw the query is “SELECT * FROM job;” (obviously not an update)

Hi @jfrojo
Which version of Metabase? How much RAM? What datasource are you connecting to?
If you run the query directly against your database, do you also get the problem there?
Do you have any blob or text columns in that table, you’re querying?

Hi @flamber, the metabase version is: 0.31.2 (the last stable version).
We run an othe batch process on the same EC2 instance wich takes up to 4Gb of ram (not running simultaneously right now), so I guess the ram is abobe 4Gb.
The datasource is a MySQL (I don’t have access to the database version)
And when Executed on other platforms/software like periscope (indirectly) or DataGrip (directly agains to the database) the query works as expected.
There are no blob fields but there are some varchar fields on the table job.

@jfrojo