Custom column as date

Use case: i want to create a pivot table with 2x group by date.
(Day / hour)

This is not possible at the moment. I thought i could maybe do a work around by adding a custom column which is just a 'copy' of the date field.

If I look at the results in a table, then i can see that column correctly added, but I can't use it in a group by, because it is not seen as a 'date' column.
Is it possible to specifiy the 'custom' column as a date column?

Hi @cobalt
You are looking for this essentially:
https://github.com/metabase/metabase/issues/4726 - upvote by clicking :+1: on the first post
And https://github.com/metabase/metabase/issues/11371

Thanks for the links.
The 1ste one i already liked.

Too bad there is no workaround in Metabase for it at the moment then :slight_smile:

@cobalt Create a database view with an extra column, that's what I have been doing for a couple of years.
It might be possible to do something with Models in 0.42.

Thanks for the suggestion. If it was for personal use, i would definitely already have done this.
But it is for all our clients where we install metabase, and i don't want to work with all different kind of views instead of the main tables.

Let's see what i can do with Models as soon there is a new version out without the current bugs in RC1 :slight_smile:

np, at least i was able to test what i want, and can confirm that it doesn't work as well.
(I wanted to group by 2x on date field)

So i created a model with just the main table, join to the original table, and as soon as i group by the date field, the other date field is 'gone'.

@cobalt It would be a million times easier if you use Sample Dataset and provide screenshots, then it's much easier to follow along.

I'll try to explain with sameple database.

Order table, the CREATED_AT field.
I want a pivot table on that field.

I want to group by week of day in columns and group by hour of day in rows.