Security for different users

I am just getting started on Metabase after many years on IBM Cognos. I love it! Question… I want to filter the data depending on the user. For example, I have a table like this:

Business Unit Product Amount
1 Widget A 100
2 Widget A 250

For User 1, I want every query to be filtered so that all they see is Business Unit 1. They cannot see any other Business Unit. This would go across several tables.

Is this possible?

1 Like

We don’t currently provide per-user filtering.

We’re rolling out our security/permissions model, with Stage 1 (https://github.com/metabase/metabase/issues/3362) coming in the 0.20 release, and Stage 2 (https://github.com/metabase/metabase/issues/3363) in v0.21.

What you’re describing, falls under https://github.com/metabase/metabase/issues/2824 (Row Level Security) which would happen after Stage 2 is released at the earliest.

In general, we’re optimizing for small groups at this stage, and slowly supporting larger more complicated scenarios. We’d love to hear specifics on your situation in any of the three above issues!

Thank you for the quick reply. I am building a cloud application that will have a common database among multiple customers. Each customer will have a unique id so I need every query to filter on the user’s company id

I LOVE Metabase from what I’ve seen so far. After working with IBM Cognos for over a decade, Metabase greatly simplifies the user interface and experience. I had it up and running in less than an hour including the download, and it is a perfect fit for what I need.

Is there a way that I could work with you on row based security in order to move the timeline up? The requirements for what I need are fairly simple and it would be a great use case to implement the feature in a very basic way until time allows for expansion.

I look forward to your thoughts.

Feel free to chime in on issue #2824 and detail how you’d like the per user restrictions specified.