Snowflake driver test

I am a noob (so pardon the dumb question) but I tried out Metabase and liked it a lot.

I noticed there is a Snowflake driver for testing and I was wondering how I can test my companies Snowflake instance with Metabase’s connection to Snoflake.

Can anyone help here :slight_smile: ?

Hi & welcome!

I’ll take a shot at trying to guide you through. As long as you are up for and able to follow instructions on installing software tools and not afraid of working a bit on a command line I think it’s doable.

Currently you need to build the specific Snowflake branch of Metabase from source code from the GitHub repo indicated in the Pull Request (PR). So the overall steps of this involves:

1. Installing tools to build Metabase as indicated in the PR here
    https://github.com/metabase/metabase/pull/6658#issuecomment-359311541
  2. Download the Snowflake sources from the kenbier:add-snowflake-database GitHub branch (my recipe in the next step also has Git as a command line tool as a prerequisite) but it can be done in other ways)
  3. Build and run the code. I tried condensing this into a hotfix build script in my post here: Do we have a Metabase build with the last commits? (Note: this naturally needs adjustments for the add-snowflake-driver to replace to 0.28 hotfix one)

If you need more guidance (you said you’re a noob - which is helpful in guiding you :smile:) It would be helpful to know on what platform you are (Mac, Windows (version?), Linux etc). I know Windows for example has additional install requirements …

Let me know at what point you stumble and we can take the specifics from there if the above didn’t already scare you away :ghost:

We don’t currently officially support Snowflake, but as @jornh mentioned, there is a community PR.

We’ve reached out to Snowflake regarding testing infrastructure, and are awaiting a response.

1 Like

Good fair warning by @sameer here!